E-mail From the White House

by
The White House, Washington
Good afternoon,You are receiving this email because you signed up at WhiteHouse.gov. My staff and I plan to use these messages as a way to directly communicate about important issues and opportunities, and today I have some encouraging updates about health care reform.

The Vice President and I just met with leaders from the House of Representatives and received their commitment to pass a comprehensive health care reform bill by July 31.

We also have an unprecedented commitment from health care industry leaders, many of whom opposed health reform in the past. Monday, I met with some of these health care stakeholders, and they pledged to do their part to reduce the health care spending growth rate, saving more than two trillion dollars over the next ten years — around $2,500 for each American family. Then on Tuesday, leaders from some of America’s top companies came to the White House to showcase innovative ways to reduce health care costs by improving the health of their workers.

Now the House and Senate are beginning a critical debate that will determine the health of our nation’s economy and its families. This process should be transparent and inclusive and its product must drive down costs, assure quality and affordable health care for everyone, and guarantee all of us a choice of doctors and plans.

Reforming health care should also involve you. Think of other people who may want to stay up to date on health care reform and other national issues and tell them to join us here:

http://www.whitehouse.gov/EmailUpdates

Health care reform can’t come soon enough. We spend more on health care than any country, but families continue to struggle with skyrocketing premiums and nearly 46 million are without insurance entirely. It is a priority for the American people and a pillar of the new foundation we are seeking to build for our economy.

We’ll continue to keep you posted about this and other important issues.

Thank you,
Barack Obama

P.S. If you’d like to get more in-depth information about health reform and how you can participate, be sure to visit http://www.HealthReform.gov.

Health care news worth sharing

Mr. President,
Being a student of history, I can pretty much assure you of 3 things.  One, this will cost us more then you can even imagine, $1.5 trillion won’t even be close, (see late 60’s and “The Great Society”).  Two, even you must see that it works nowhere else in the world as well our own, otherwise, really sick world leaders wouldn’t come here when they need 1st class medical care.  Three, you can’t find anything even close to the authority to do this in Article 1, Section 8 of the Constitution.

With respects due your Office,
chas

PS,  And since half of the “magic” 45 million are not here legally, please don’t expect my heart to bleed for them.  I’d rather you spend the money protecting our borders and stopping this invasion of foreign nationals.
6 Responses to “E-mail From the White House”

  1. lori Says:

    Well I would certainly hope Gary and I won’t have to pay more for less, but if that the case, and it would mean every person in America would have access to healthcare, we would belly up to the bar, as we do currently. We “pay” more taxes than 96 percent of American’s and we do it proudly… We have received no stimulus and probs won’t be receiving any SS on the projected path. But I do use our roads and highways, my parents took SS and medicare, my children did attend public schools, and at least one of my presidents decided to use my money to invade independent sovereign nation, apparently because we decided that the leader was a not a nice person… or was it because they viloated a UN resolution (which currently 27 countries are also doing, one of them being China… whom I THINK is our personal banker????) or WMD I can’t remeber now? Allllllll to keep me safe… Sooooo I guess if we pay 35 percent of our income for those reasons I guess I’d be happy to pay 37 percent and allow my countrymen healthcare.

    I would happily read anything you have to support your claim that we are the world leader in healthcare. My sister-in-law was on the committee to argue the said thesis and was having difficulty finding opposing information, I am sure she would appreciate reading your souces as well. The truth is We are slipping rapidly…. and are no longer number one… or two…. or in some cases three….

    Good day to you and Eileen… I hope your weather is nicer than ours in Michigan……namaste’
    ==========================
    Good luck with 37%, wait until cap & trade hits you too. Sorry you forgot what this Country was founded upon and sorry you are so willing to lay down with the lion. I am also sorry you don’t see how poorly most things run by the Government are run wasting billions of your dollars.

    If the best you can do is blame Bush, I’m sorry for you. BTW can you also blame Clinton for part of the housing mess? Can you feel bad the we STILL have troops in the Balkins? Thanks Mr. Clinton.

    I am oh so tired of the left crying. Please get a better over-all view my friend. It isn’t Dems or the GOP, it’s both and us who put these people in place to stomp on the Constitution. And until you get there, there isn’t much for us to do but disagree respectfully.

    I’m not so sure what is so hard to understand about rich and world leaders not getting treatment at home that confuses you. Even not so rich come here. But whatever. I don’t do Doctors unless I have to, and I am certain though I will be paying for those who don’t think the same way. Every skinned knee and bloody nose. And not to mention every, all 25 million of them, illegal that is here and will grow in number with yet another give away.

    chas

  2. lori Says:

    Good Morning Chas, Hey I got the same letter! LOL Imagine that!!

    On the policy side of healthcare reform I have to agree there is lots of room for discuss on which direction to move in order to bring the necessary change. I sure do hope both sides of the of the spectrum come together to reach a bill that is well thought out and balanced and affordable. We have great minds and lots of intellectual gray matter to tap in this country, I sure hope everyone comes to the table with ideas.

    On the political side of the issue it is obvious the climate is condusive for healthcare reform. Our citizens want it, our hospital administrators want it, doctors want it, and of course being a Christian I believe God would like us to take care of our sick as well..;-) I was reading a thesis written by one of my sister-in-laws’ graduate student’s concerning the decline in the American Medical schools (education) in the last 20 years, And how far behind we as a nation have fallen, in terms of research, both in funding, and success. This made my heart sick, considering the turn of the last century we had lead in all of those areas.

    I would like our country to once again be numero uno in all catagories of science and medicine. AND allow every citizen access to healthcare. Buring our heads in the sand and waving Old Glory isn’t gonna get us there, we need reform… And yes I do think, we as a nation are ready to fund healthcare, just as we are roads and schools……At least there are people in power now that are willing to try…..namaste’
    ===========================
    Then get ready to pay more for less and see less, not more, improvement in health care. Facts and evidence are tough things Lori, and when those in the world really need care they come here. That is a fact. And it is evidence, despite your claim, we are still the world leader in health care.

    Changing to a system that we can already see doesn’t work is moronic at best.

    chas

  3. Eileen Says:

    Glad to see that guy at the top wrote to you…lol.
    =========================
    Form letter that anyone who writes gets. I doubt anyone even reads the responses.

    chas

  4. Gini Says:

    I wonder if congress has considered that they will also be in jeopardy of loosing their excellent access to medical care also, as they continue down this altruistic path, which serves no one at all. I don’t consider any of them are smarter than I am on any day, but certainly a constitutional lawyer, should have a better grasp of it all? Isn’t it a shame he seems to really have listened to Rev Wright, after all? tho he claimed he did not. Another bit of the miss direction of a talented, albeit agenda ridden, man. I continue to weep for our nation today, and for the generations to come that will not enjoy the grand country I grew up in. Great piece Chas…Gini
    =========================================
    Congress is not likely to change their coverage. What they have is beyond what even the military use to get. Not going to give that up.

    chas

  5. Frank C Says:

    Don’t have any change left Ochanger got it all.
    ===============================
    Hang on, as the last blog says, more to come.

    chas

  6. Frank C Says:

    Chas,
    Due you have a spare clue that we can give Oclueless cause he does not have a clue. I am sure his price tag does not even scratch the surface.
    ============================
    I do actually Frank. If he could take a few minutes to read The Unraveling of American by Allen J. Matusow, pages 226 – 228. He would find that Medicare went from $3.4 billion to $18 Billion in just 10 years, (1965), and Medicade went from $4 million to $24 Million and combined reached $32 Billion, for a mere 1/5th of the population. 20% covered for $32 billion dollars. You do the math.

    How’s that for change?

    chas

Leave a Reply

