Addiction

by

It’s not just Americans that are addictive as a people.  It seems to me that all people are addictive to one thing or another.  I am going to focus most on Americans, since I am one.

Many Americans are addicted to drugs, alcohol, sex, food and smoking.  Some of these are deadly of course.  Too much of these items can cause people to have major health problems.  Some things are more of an individual problem but an addiction none the less.

Some have problems with cell phones, computers, thrills, instant gratification, money or the spending of it and according to the Government oil.

I say that not a one of these addictions is even a pimple on a bugs butt compared to the worse addiction Americans have come to hold true and dear to their hearts.  While the others listed above, and there are others to be sure, the effects of those addictions is mostly limited, considering the number of people in this Country.

The addiction that has crippled not only the individual but the Country at large is the addiction to Government Entitlements.  Can you think of any single thing that has hampered the growth of the economy or the individual more than the handing out of “others people” money to those who refuse to work or fend for their selves?

There is nothing in the Constitution that says one of the enumerated powers of the Federal Government is to hand out yours and my hard-earned money to someone who feels they are entitled to something just because they live here in the good old US of A.

Another addiction that seems to have effected the majority of the population is Party Addiction.  My Party right or wrong is simply no way to run a Country, not effectively.  Some say that the reason that the GOP lost the last couple of elections was because they moved too far right.  Nothing could be farther from the truth.

The GOP lost the last couple of elections because they forgot why the were elected and given the majority in the first place back in ’94.  To spend less and reduce the size and hammer hand of Government on the individual.  People do not want the Government in their backyard, back pocket or their back bedroom.  They wanted the overall size of Government to be scaled back.

At first, they did, while a Democrat was in Office.  Once a Republican was in the big house it was full steam ahead.  While spending was not on the scale as this present Administration, it was enough to lose the base support.  No use electing a Republican to act like a Democrat when you can hire a Democrat to do the job.

Until Republicans return to being the Party of smaller Government, better ideas and less involvement in private lives, they will remain in the minority.  In other words STOP trying to appease the middle.  They are fickle and the reason they are in the middle is because they don’t have the grapes to take a principled stand.

Democrats don’t have to worry about taking a principled stance since they just try and appease as many minority groups as they can to secure their office.   They do this mostly by infringing upon the majority and by stealing their hard-earned money.  The largest part of the Democrats base is just looking to have what you earned.  We can only stop giving it to them and teach them to fend for their own self.

chas

“Rebellion to Tyranny is Obedience to God”

8 Responses to “Addiction”

  1. Eileen Says:

    Oh dear–maybe I am in trouble. I am addicted to making quilts for our wounded military. BUT–the government does not give me the fabric and other supplies. My Lizzies help out with that. We are self sufficient.
    =======================
    I looked and I can’t find fabric in the Constitution. I guess it is goo that your quilting friends help out.

    chas

  2. Salvatore Says:

    Morning Chas, that’s some good reading my friend…right on the money,
    Great post Chas.
    =================
    I try Sal. I like having smart people like you coming back. As far as money, seems to me that right on the money is going to be right in Obooboo’s pocket…lol

    chas

  3. Dan Fugate Says:

    Chas,

    I like your point of view. I think that the gov’t should be less involved in our personal lives but there are some cases where we do need intervention. I’m among the people who think that there should be some kind of health care available to all American citizens.

    I want gov’t out of my house though and I want to keep my guns. I love to hunt and, when I can go and I do have a successful hunt, there is a lot of inexpensive and healthy red meat for my family.
    =========================
    Thank you for reading Dan. I often have to point out that I object to little of what the Government does, so long as it is covered by Article 1, Section 8 of the Constitution. As is the case of so many things these days this is yet another thing that the government has no Constitutional authority to preside over.

    I think that Jefferson summed it up pretty well; “Our peculiar security is in the possession of a written Constitution. Let us not make it a blank paper by construction.” –Thomas Jefferson to Wilson Nicholas, 1803.

    Always remember, in the beginning seat belts were a suggestion, today a major traffic violation complete with fine.

    Thank you for reading and leaving your thoughts.

    chas

  4. Heather Says:

    One thing I am not is party addicted; growing up in a political background my whole family was bias, even now my father at 88 is no longer….we both go by the issues. For me it begins and ends with LIFE…..when I push that button, regardless of how well qualified u are, you better be PRO-LIFE!

    I like how you started off with a theme and slid into your political views, very clever Mr. Chas….I like your style!
    ================================
    And I like having clever readers like yourself Foxy.

    chas

  5. Dave Says:

    Very interesting post as always, very thought provoking.
    ==========================
    Thanks for taking the time to read.

    chas

  6. Frank C Says:

    Boy did you hit the nail on the head…there is another addiction that exists only in Washington,,,POWER.

    We need a movement to TTBO (Throw The Bums Out)
    ===================================
    I think the lust for power exists in more places than in Washington my friend. But the place it causes the most damage is in DC.

    chas

  7. carolynro Says:

    Yes, the addiction started decades ago and is embedded in the lifestyle of millions of Americans.
    =====================================
    Hundreds of millions it would seem.

    chas

  8. Gwen Says:

    AMEN Chas! You hit the nail right on the head, as you always do.
    =========================
    Thank you Ms Gwen. I think it an observation the the media will want to ignore.

    chas

Leave a Reply

